PPA award winners announced

The UK publishing industry gathered last night at The Grosvenor House Hotel for the annual Professional Publishers Association (PPA) Awards. Hosted by TV presenter Tess Daly, the event provided a celebration of the achievements of editors, their teams and the organisations that drive the sector.

The awards recognise winners in 28 categories, showcasing the best of the industry, from the writers and designers to those spearheading change and challenging the status quo in core areas of sustainability and diversity and inclusion. New categories added this year include Newcomer of the Year and Future Leader of the Year.

The evening was accompanied by the award-winning AMC Gospel Choir, stars of BBC One’s Last Choir Standing.

Saj Merali, PPA CEO, said: “Last night was a celebration of the ingenuity, creativity and forward-thinking initiatives that are driving the success of this industry. I’d like to congratulate the shortlisted entries and the winners, who represent a cross section of specialist interest and multiplatform media on setting the benchmark of excellence so high.  We have an exciting future ahead of us.”

Full list of last night’s winners:

  • Innovation of the Year: Nexus – next generation account-based marketing, Incisive Nexus, Incisive Media
    Category sponsored by FT Strategies
  • Designer of the Year: Peter Allen, Magneto, Hothouse Media
    Category sponsored by AND
  • Sustainability Award: Planet Hearst, Hearst UK
    Category sponsored by Denmaur Paper Media
  • Columnist of the Year: Mark Ritson, Marketing Week, Centaur Media
  • Industry Partner of the Year: Marketforce
  • Magazine Retailer of the Year: Magazine Heaven
  • Podcast of the Year: The Plodcast, BBC Countryfile Magazine, Our Media
  • Unsung Hero of the Year: Sophie Dainty, Digital Spy, Hearst UK
  • Newcomer of the Year: Amy Hopkins, APA Digital AG
  • Future Leader of the Year: Rob Horgan, New Civil Engineer, Emap/Metropolis
  • Children’s Magazine of the Year: The Week Junior, Future
  • Diversity & Inclusion Award: Beano, DC Thomson
    Category sponsored by NLA Media Access
  • Campaign of the Year: Monty Don book campaign, BBC Gardeners’ World, Immediate Media
    Category sponsored by DSB
  • Content Agency of the Year: Think
  • Market Intelligence Brand / Product of the Year: Signal, The Lawyer, Centaur Media
  • Event of the Year (Business Media): Sustainable Investment Festival, Incisive Media
    Category sponsored by Evessio
  • Event of the Year (Consumer Media): PONY Magazine Big Day Out, DJ Murphy
    Category sponsored by White Space Creative Solutions
  • Commercial Partnership of the Year: The Big Issue together with O2: The National Databank Partnership
    Category sponsored by Publishers Licensing Services (PLS)
  • Subscriptions Strategy of the Year: A Subscriptions Workout: Strengthening our Core and Stretching, Hearst UK
    Category sponsored by ESco
  • Writer of the Year: Melissa Thompson, BBC Good Food, Immediate Media
    Category sponsored by CLA
  • Editor of the Year (Business Media): Jaimie Kaffash, Pulse, Cogora
  • Editor of the year (Consumer Media): Lily Barclay, bbcgoodfood.com and olivemagazine.com, Immediate Media
  • Team of the Year: Immediate People Team, Immediate Media
    Category sponsored by NewsTeam Group
  • Cover of the Year
    Gay Times, Gay Times Group – category sponsor Shutterstock Editorial
    Silver: Country Life, Future
    Bronze: BBC Wildlife, Our Media
  • Special Interest Magazine/Brand of the Year: Wanderlust, Wanderlust Travel Media
  • Business Excellence Award – PPA’s Chair Award: Haymarket Media Group
  • Media Brand of the Year (Business Media): Raconteur, Raconteur Media 
    Category sponsored by Affino
  • Media Brand of the Year (Consumer Media): BBC Good Food, Immediate Media
    Category sponsored by Air Business

You can find out more about the PPA and its awards programme here.


Your first step to joining FIPP's global community of media leaders

Sign up to FIPP World x