PressGazette to name British journalist, scoop and investigation of the decade

In mid-December PressGazette unveiled the winners of the British Journalism Awards which saw Robert Moore named as 2021 Journalist of the Year for his reporting from inside the US Capitol for ITV News and The Guardian winning the gong for News Provider of the Year.

There is a full list of winners here.

The Gazette also asked UK media employees to vote for who they think deserved to be the journalists of the decade in three categories; Journalist of the Decade, Scoop of the Decade and Investigation of the Decade.

The voters got to choose from the winners of the three categories of the British Journalism Awards from the last ten years.

The list is below. The winners will be announced shortly

Who do you think deserves to be named British Journalism Awards Journalist of the Decade?

2012 – David Walsh, Sunday Times

2013 – Michael Gillard, Freelance/Sunday Times

2014 – Andrew Norfolk, The Times

2015 – Jonathan Calvert, Sunday Times

2016 – Laura Kuenssberg, BBC

2017 – Nick Ferrari, LBC

2018 – Amelia Gentleman, The Guardian

2019 – Robin Barnwell, ITV/Hardcash Productions

2020 – Dan McCrum, Financial Times

2021 – Robert Moore, ITV News

Which story do you think deserves to be named British Journalism Awards Scoop of the Decade?

2012 – Channel 4 Dispatches: Plebgate

2013 – Daily Mirror: Oliver Letwin ‘dumped secret papers in park bins for months’

2014 – Mail on Sunday: Crystal meth shame of bank chief’

2015 – Sunday Times: Swiss prosecutors target Blatter as Prince William demands clean-up’

2016 – Daily Telegraph: My secret father, DNA tests reveal Archbishop of Canterbury’s astonishing family past

2017 – Sunday Mirror: “Labour MP Keith Vaz and the prostitutes in his flat”

2018 – The Times: Oxfam in Haiti: ‘It was like a Caligula orgy with prostitutes in Oxfam T-shirts’

2019 – The Times: ‘Bring me home’, exclusive interview with Shamima Begum

2020 – Daily Mirror/The Guardian: Pressure on Dominic Cummings to quit over lockdown breach

2021 – The Sun – Hancock’s affair with aide

What do you think deserves to be named Investigation of the Decade?

2012 – The Times, Tax avoidance schemes of rich and famous exposed

2013 – Sunday Times, The Untouchable: Exposure of gangster David Hunt

2014 – Sunday Times FIFA Files investigation corruption around Qatar World Cup bid

2015 – The Guardian, HSBC Files revealing use of tax havens to avoid paying tax

2016 – The Guardian, The Panama Papers

2017 – Channel 4 Dispatches, Syria’s Disappeared: The Case Against Assad

2018 – The Observer, 50m Facebook files taken in record data breach | Channel 4 News, Cambridge Analytica Uncovered

2019 – The Telegraph, Britain’s #MeToo Scandal

2020 – BBC Panorama (with The Sunday Times), War crimes scandal exposed

2021 – Financial Times, Greensill Capital

Other award winners include The Guardian’s Marina Hyde for comment journalism, Sky News’ Mark Kleinman for Business, Finance and Economics Journalism and the Financial Times team of Jim Pickard, Cynthia O’Murchu, Robert Smith and Arash Massoudi for Political Journalism.


Your first step to joining FIPP's global community of media leaders

Sign up to FIPP World x