Haymarket launches The Press Awards

Haymarket has this week launched The Press Awards 2022, which will seek out and celebrate the most innovative, exciting and erudite journalists working in the UK, as well as recognising the publications that set new standards for quality. 

With a heritage spanning six decades, The Press Awards have honoured some of the most respected names in British journalism, and throughout the continued fallout of the pandemic, economic volatility and geopolitical tension, the best in the industry have continued to offer insight, inspiration and analysis to the British public. 

The awards offer an opportunity to gain recognition for excellence across 26 categories, which amongst them include: 

  • Interviewer of the Year
  • Columnist of the Year
  • Feature Writer of the Year
  • Photographer of the Year
  • Investigation of the Year
  • News Website of the Year
  • Cartoonist of the Year
  • Scoop of the Year

This year’s programme will also include a new Young Journalist of the Year award, open to any journalists aged 26 or under December 31st 2022. The award is supported by the Cecil King Foundation and the winner will receive a £5,000 bursary to be used for travel to research an agreed article or series of articles for their title.

“These awards are the ones everyone working in news media today wants to win,” says Owen Meredith, Chief Executive Officer for the News Media Association. “They have a long and proud history, celebrating true excellence in the world of journalism, across print and digital platforms. At a time when access to trusted journalism has perhaps never been more important, The Press Awards bring our industry together to champion the importance of journalism to society and celebrate truly outstanding talent.”

You can find further information including on how to enter here.  


Your first step to joining FIPP's global community of media leaders

Sign up to FIPP World x