FIPP and UPM announce the 2018 Rising Stars winners


Rising Stars winners 2018 ()

FIPP & UPM Rising Stars 2018 


The FIPP and UPM’s Rising Stars 2018 winners are:

Overall Winners


Rising Stars overall winner ()

Helen O’Donnell


Helen O’Donnell, Talentworks, BBC Studios (Overall Winner)

Hannah Gelbart, BBC News

Rebecca Dale, Immediate Media

Tasnim Nazeer, Freelance Journalist

Andy Greening, The River Group

Ellie Cawthorne, Immediate Media

Special Jury Award

Charlie Robinson, Inside Out Publications

Highly Commended

Ellen Hoffman, Insider

Thomas Deléchat, Ringier Axel Springer Schweiz

Chris Clemo, Immediate Media

Rachel Lawler, Pre-School Learning Alliance

Skye Rubel, MPA

Rachel Arthur, Boom Salon

The overall winners get tickets to attend the FIPP World Media Congress, taking place on 12-14 November 2019 in Las Vegas.

In addition to the four overall Rising Stars winners, the judges recognised Immediate Media, BBC and The River Group for the overall high standard of their entries.


James Hewes zoom ()

James Hewes, FIPP


“We are absolutely delighted to be able to announce this year’s Rising Stars winners. We had a record number of entries this year and the judges had a tough time selecting the six worthy winners. The FIPP UPM Rising Stars represent the best and brightest new talent in our industry and I look forward to seeing them continue to grow our industry with their innovative approaches and ideas,” said James Hewes, president and CEO of FIPP.


Ruud van den Berg ()

Ruud van den Berg, UPM


“UPM was very happy once again to take part in recognising the drive and talent of young executives who are putting their ambition into developing the media industry. Every year we are overwhelmed by the scope of the entries and impressed by the enthusiasm, innovation and determination that these young stars have,” said Ruud van den Berg, senior vice president of magazines, merchants and office of UPM Communication Papers.

UPM is the partner of FIPP’s Rising Stars in Media for the fourth year running.

The judging panel was:

– Ruud van den Berg, senior vice president magazines, merchants and office, UPM Paper ENA

– Julia Raphaely, CEO, Associated Media Publishing

– Liz Vaccariello, editor-in-chief, Parents

– Yanna Wilson-Fischer, marketing director, acquisition experiences, The Economist

– Ralph Büchi, COO Ringier, CEO Ringier Axel

– James Hewes, president and CEO, FIPP

More like this

The publishing industry trends that will shape our future – James Hewes, CEO and president of FIPP

Fuel the Funnel research, a UK collaboration, is Overall Winner of the FIPP Insight Awards 2018

Your first step to joining FIPP's global community of media leaders

Sign up to FIPP World x