Crisis-driven pivots: How Covid-19 forced The Big Issue to accelerate change

 

The Big Issue Russell Blackman ()

 

Register here

 

The Big Issue is the proverbial patron of the international street newspaper business model, supporting vendors to find a way out of homelessness by selling the copies of The Big Issue on the street.

There are The Big Issue brands in markets such as Australia, Japan, South Africa and South Korea, and more than 120 brands with similar business models in other parts of the world.

In markets such as the UK, The Big Issue already faced challenges as:

1. A printed magazine when media consumption is increasingly online

2. Relying on physical street sales when retail is increasingly moving online

3. Relying on cash transactions when societies are increasingly becoming cash-less

Covid-19 enforced lockdowns brought these challenges facing The Big Issue and other such publications to a head.

Hear from Russell how The Big Issue is facing up to these challenges, while he also sets some misconceptions about The Big Issue model to bed. The free, hour-long FIPP Insider webinar takes place on Thursday 25 June at 9 am ET, 2 pm BST, 3 pm CET and 9 pm HKT. Sign up now.

 

  

More like this

[Webinar video] Deep dive into the Global Digital Subscription Snapshot with CeleraOne and FIPP

[Webinar video] Data-driven pricing strategies that grow subscription revenue

[Webinar video] Tipser on how European publishers turned to e-commerce in tough times

[Webinar video] Dow Jones on opportunities and challenges in a world of intermittent lockdowns

[Webinar video] How to communicate virtually, brilliantly, with Andy Bounds

Your first step to joining FIPP's global community of media leaders

Sign up to FIPP World x

Join us for FIPP World Media Congress

Get Your Ticket Now x